Monday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Tuesday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Wednesday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Thursday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Friday10:00 AM – 09:00 PM
Saturday09:30 AM – 08:00 PM
Opened today: 09:30 AM – 08:00 PM 

the KaDeWe —
history of our store

What started out as an adventurous idea by the Berlin merchant Adolf Jandorf, surpassed all expectations when the KaDeWe was opened on the 27th of March 1907: The Kaufhaus des Westens, KaDeWe in short, presented customers with an array of desirable goods from around the world at the traffic junction Wittenbergplatz – including a multitude of products that was rare or entirely unknown to the German customers. The fashion assortment presented creations from the latest Paris fashion shows, and exotic south sea fruits could be admired in the food department. Moreover, the warehouse offered exclusive services, for example a library and almost two dozen elevators. Enthusiasts of architecture were impressed with the opulent window frontage, light-flooded halls and wood-panelled walls in the restrooms. The Tauentzien quickly evolved into one of the busiest boulevards in the city.

The Hertie-Group,which took over the KaDeWe in the 1920s was disowned in 1933 by the NS regime. During WW2 a US American airplane crashed into the roof and caused a major fire. The reconstruction took almost a year and a half. In 1956 the reconstruction of all even floors was completed.

In the 1960s the KaDeWe lost a majority of it’s employees and loyal customers after the Berlin Wall was built. Over time it returned to its former glory nonetheless. The sales area was expanded to 44.000 square meters during the reconstruction by 1978, and established the KaDeWe as one of the most prominent sites of Berlin. After the fall of the wall in November 1989 over 200.000 guests a day visited the department store regularly – the highest number of visitors in history.

Today, the KaDeWe is an international department store which offers international designer goods and exclusive brands on more than 60.000 square meters. Products and services represent the idea to turn a shopping day into an experience.

From 10 am when the original iron gate built in 1907 is sunk into the ground, the store welcomes over 50.000 customers daily. In the Christmas season the number can go up to 100.000. Since 2016 the interior is being reconstructed under the management of architect Rem Kohlhaas and his office OMA in a multi-year project. In the process it will be separated into four different quadrants, which will be furnished by renowned designers. Once again the KaDeWe meets the current demands to continue to satisfy it’s customers requirements and to stay as versatile as the city of Berlin.

2016

Beginning of the multi-year conversion following plans created by architect Rem Koolhaas; revealing the new window front and the new entrance; opening of the first two new quadrants Women’s Fashion in the second floor, furnished by designer India Mahdavi as well as Men’s Accessories on the 1st floor, furnished by Storage Milano.

2015

The Central Group / La Rinascente takes over the majority of shares of The KaDeWe Group with 50.1 percent

2014

Signa Holding GmbH acquires majority shares of the Karstadt Premium GmbH; the associated stores are renamed to »The KaDeWe Group«

2012

 

Re-opening of the expanded luxury boulevard and the extended beauty department on the ground floor, as well as the Accesssories Department »The Loft« on the third floor; reconstruction and reopening of the “Home & Living” area on the 4th floor

2010

 

Takeover of the Karstadt Group by Nicolas Berggruen Holdings GmbH; further development of the Premium GmbH with KaDeWe, Alsterhaus and Oberpollinger

kadewe_2007

2007

 

100th Anniversary

2006

 

Merger of all Karstadt department stores, KaDeWe, Alsterhaus and Oberpollinger, as Karstadt Premium GmbH

 

2005

 

Presentation of international fashion brands on 20.000 square meters

 

2004

 

Reconstruction and opening of the luxury boulevard and the beauty department on the ground floor

 

1994

 

Takeover of the Hertie Group by the Karstadt Group

 

1991–1996

 

Construction of the glass roof with integrated restaurant on the 7th floor; Enlargement to 60.000 square meters

kadewe_1989

1989

 

Highest visitor turnout after the fall of the Berlin wall

1976–1978

 

Reconstruction and enlargement to 44.000 square meters

kadewe_1976
kadewe_1950

1956

 

Completion of reconstruction of all seven floors; Opening of the gourmet floor

July 1950

 

Reopening of the first two floors with 180,000 Berlin guests

 

1950

 

Beginning of reconstruction under the management of the architect Hans Soll

1943

 

Destruction by a plane crash with subsequent major fire

kadewe_1943
kadewe_1933-768x401

1933

 

Expropriation of the Hertie Group

1929–1930

 

Expansion to seven floors following plans by architect Johann Emil Schaudt and Harald Ströming

 

1927

 

Takeover by the Hertie Group

kadewe_1929
kadewe_1910

1910

 

The Tauentzienstraße becomes one of the most famous shopping boulevards in the city

kadewe_1907
    • MARCH 1907

 

Opening of the Kaufhaus des Westens, KaDeWe in short, with five floors and 24.000 square meters

 

1905

 

Adolf Jandorf commissions the architect Johann Emil Schaudt with the construction of a department store

Montag10:00 – 20:00
Dienstag10:00 – 20:00
Mittwoch10:00 – 20:00
Donnerstag10:00 – 20:00
Freitag10:00 – 21:00
Samstag09:30 – 20:00
Sonntag13:00 – 18:00
Heute geöffnet: 10:00 – 20:00 Uhr

Das KaDeWe —
Die Geschichte unseres Hauses

Was 1905 als vermeintlich abenteuerliche Idee des Berliner Kaufmanns Adolf Jandorf begann, übertraf schon bei der Eröffnung am 27. März 1907 alle Erwartungen: Das Kaufhaus des Westens, kurz »KaDeWe«, bot am zentralen Verkehrsknotenpunkt des Wittenbergplatzes Begehrtes aus aller Welt – angefangen bei einer Vielzahl von Produkten, die selten und für die deutsche Kundschaft oft auch unbekannt waren. Das Modesortiment präsentierte Kreationen, die von den Laufstegen in Paris stammten, und die Lebensmittelabteilung wartete mit exotischen Früchten aus der Südsee auf. Außerdem zeichnete sich das Warenhaus durch besondere Serviceleistungen aus, etwa eine Leihbibliothek und fast zwei Dutzend Personenaufzüge. Architekturbegeisterte zeigten sich beeindruckt von seinen prächtigen Fensterfassaden, lichtdurchfluteten Verkaufshallen und holzgetäfelten Erfrischungsräumen. Schnell entwickelte sich der Tauentzien zu einem der beliebtesten Boulevards der Stadt.

Der Hertie-Konzern, der das KaDeWe in den Zwanzigerjahren übernommen hatte, wurde 1933 durch das NS-Regime enteignet. Im Zweiten Weltkrieg stürzte ein amerikanisches Flugzeug ins Dach des Hauses und löste einen Großbrand aus. Der Wiederaufbau zog sich über fast anderthalb Jahrzehnte hin. Erst 1956 war die vollständige Rekonstruktion aller sieben Etagen abgeschlossen.

In den Sechzigerjahren verlor das KaDeWe durch den Bau der Berliner Mauer einen erheblichen Teil seiner Mitarbeiter und Stammbesucher. Dennoch fand es allmählich zu seiner alten Größe zurück. Ein bis 1978 währender Umbau erweiterte die Verkaufsfläche auf 44.000 Quadratmeter und etablierte das KaDeWe als eine der bekanntesten Sehenswürdigkeiten Berlins. Nach dem Mauerfall im November 1989 strömten an manchem Tag 200.000 Personen in das Warenhaus – das stärkste Besucheraufkommen in der Geschichte.

Heute ist das KaDeWe ein internationaler Departmentstore, der auf mehr als 60.000 Quadratmetern Verkaufsfläche internationale Designer und höchstklassige Marken anbietet. Produkte und Service stehen für die Idee, Einkauf zum Erlebnis werden zu lassen.

Von dem Moment an, da sich morgens um 10 Uhr das originale Eisengitter von 1907 vor dem Eingang senkt, empfängt das Haus täglich über 50.000 Kunden – in der Weihnachtszeit sind es bis zu 100.000. Seit 2016 wird das Interieur unter der Aufsicht des Architekten Rem Koolhaas und seines Büros OMA in einem mehrjährigen Umbau grundlegend neu strukturiert. Es erhält dabei eine Unterteilung in Quadranten, für deren Ausstattung renommierte Designer verantwortlich zeichnen. Das KaDeWe passt sich wieder einmal den Anforderungen der Zeit an, um auch weiterhin den hohen Ansprüchen seiner Gäste zu entsprechen – und wie die Hauptstadt Berlin wandelbar zu bleiben.

2016

Beginn des mehrjährigen Umbaus nach den Plänen des Architekten Rem Koolhaas; Enthüllung der neuen Fensterfront und des neuen Eingangs; Eröffnung der ersten beiden neuen Quadranten Women’s Fashion in der 2. Etage nach den Plänen der Designerin India Mahdavi sowie Men’s Accessories in der 1. Etage nach den Plänen des Storage Milano.

kadewe-berlin-tauentzien-fenster-bulgari-bvlgari-schaufenster
kadewe-berlin-womensfloor-fashion-designer-highend-women
kadewe-berlin-accessoires-etage-schuhe-taschen-herren-men-männer
kadewe-berlin-tauentzien-gebäude-departmentstore-kaufhaus-warenhaus

2015

Übernahme der Mehrheitsverhältnisse der The KaDeWe Group durch die Central Group/La Rinascente mit 50,1 Prozent

2014

Übernahme der Mehrheitsverhältnisse der Karstadt Premium GmbH durch die Signa Holding GmbH rund um René Benko; Umbenennung der zugehörigen Häuser in »The KaDeWe Group«

kadewe-berlin-theloft-accesoires-accessories-schuhe-damen-women-shoes

2012

Neueröffnung des erweiterten Luxus-Boulevards und der erweiterten Beauty-Abteilung im Erdgeschoss sowie der Schuh- und Taschenwelt »The Loft« in der 3. Etage; Umbau und Neueröffnung des Bereichs »Home & Living« in der 4. Etage

2010

Übernahme des Karstadt-Konzerns durch die Nicolas Berggruen Holdings GmbH; Weiterentwicklung der Premium GmbH mit KaDeWe, Alsterhaus und Oberpollinger

kadewe-berlin-100-jahre-jubiläum-2007

2007

100. Jubiläum

2006

Zusammenfassung der Karstadt-Häuser KaDeWe, Alsterhaus und Oberpollinger in der Karstadt Premium GmbH

2005

Vorstellung internationaler Fashion-Marken auf 20.000 Quadratmetern

2004

Umbau und Eröffnung des Luxus-Boulevards und der Beauty-Abteilung im Erdgeschoss

1994

Übernahme des Hertie-Konzerns durch den Karstadt-Konzern

1991–1996

Bau des Glasgewölbes mit integriertem Restaurant in der 7. Etage; Vergrößerung auf 60.000 Quadratmeter

kadewe-berlin-tauentzien-historie-1989

1989

Großer Besucherandrang nach der Wende

1976–1978

Umbau und Vergrößerung auf 44.000 Quadratmeter

kadewe-berlin-tauentzien-historie-1976
kadewe-berlin-tauentzien-1950-1956-wiederaufbau-feinschmeckeretage

1956

Fertigstellung des Wiederaufbaus aller sieben Etagen; Eröffnung der Feinschmecker-Etage

Juli 1950

Wiedereröffnung der ersten beiden Etagen mit 180.000 Berliner Gästen

1950

Beginn des Wiederaufbaus unter der Leitung des Architekten Hans Soll

1943

Zerstörung durch einen Flugzeugabsturz mit anschließendem Großbrand

kadewe-berlin-tauentzien-1943-großbrand-flugzeugabsturz
kadewe-berlin-tauentzien-historie-1933-zwangsverkauf

1933

Zwangsverkauf des Hertie-Konzerns

1929–1930

Vergrößerung auf sieben Etagen nach den Plänen der Architekten Johann Emil Schaudt und Harald Ströming

1927

Übernahme durch den Hertie-Konzern

kadewe-berlin-tauentzien-historie-1929
kadewe-berlin-tauentzien-historie-1910-einkaufsboulevard

1910

Wandlung des Tauentzien zum Einkaufs-Boulevard

kadewe-berlin-historie-märz-1907-eröffnung
  • März 1907

Eröffnung als Kaufhaus des Westens, kurz »KaDeWe«, auf fünf Etagen und 24.000 Quadratmetern

1905

Gründungsidee; Kaufmann Adolf Jandorf beauftragt den Architekten Johann Emil Schaudt mit dem Bau eines Warenhauses