Monday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Tuesday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Wednesday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Thursday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Friday10:00 AM – 09:00 PM
Saturday09:30 AM – 09:00 PM
Opened today: 10:00 AM – 08:00 PM 

‘I WOULDN’T CALL IT POLITICAL’

Just when you thought there couldn’t be another, there’s a new Austrian music export on the scene. In the footsteps of Bilderbuch, Wanda, Yung Hurn and Voodoo Jürgens, the rapper Jugo Ürdens is now seizing the microphone. We discuss political rap and Balkan melancholy with the newcomer.

If there’s one place left in Vienna where the entire city still gathers across the boundaries of gender, age, class, profession and ethnicity, it’s the Turkish restaurant ‘Kent’. The background noise is deafening, the food mouth-watering. You can see Croatian families eating lunch, Turkish couples on their first date or Austrian construction workers getting their sustenance. And, now and then, the Vienna-based rapper Jugo Ürdens – a Macedonian-born business school dropout in his early twenties. Now Austria’s latest hip hop export. Although there’s an ulterior meaning to Jugo Ürdens’ name, with ‘Jugo’ being short for the former Yugoslavia in German, he doesn’t want to rub it in people’s faces. In all actuality, he wishes the topic didn’t even exist. So that he could rap about things that are truly important instead of ‘politics and shit’. Like personal stories that others can identify with, for example.

Jugo, the rapper Kendrick Lamar recently won the Pulitzer Prize for his album ‘Damn’, becoming the first hip hop act to do so. Does hip hop have to be socially critical?
It doesn’t have to be. If rap is the antithesis to politics then that’s good. Of course what Kendrick’s doing is good, but there’s also political rap which is completely terrible. I’m personally pretty low-key when it comes to this. I have one track that’s political, ‘Österreicher’ (Austrian), and that’s enough for me.

Your music is often considered cloud rap, but you reject this label. Why?
I personally wouldn’t go along with the label 100 percent, but there’s definitely overlap in terms of sound. In general, I don’t understand why everything always needs to have a category.

Your single ‘Schwarzes Gold’ (Black Gold) is about cola. Is this to distance yourself from drug consumption in the rap world?
To be honest, the song was just for fun. Though I have to say I’m pretty clean when I’m out and about. Anyway, I don’t like the song at all any more. I uploaded a video for it once but I’ve taken it down since then.

Do you often stop liking your songs once they’ve been published?
Don’t even ask, it happens all the time.

The cover of your first EP has a painting of a garlic bulb. What’s that all about?
My parents used to be total hipsters back in the day. Went to galleries and that all the time. Back then they bought this painting by a female artist; it must have been in the nineties. Afterwards we moved what felt like 40 different times and the painting always came with us. At some point it ended up in the cellar and, when I moved out, I took it with me and hung it up at my new place. I find it pretty nice. A slice of home.

You come from Macedonia and spent your early childhood there. Did that influence you musically?
I began to think about my roots properly when I was 16. I came to Vienna when I was seven but always went back down south for the summer. Eventually I had to deal with the question: where do I really come from? I listened to lots of music and sampled a lot of old Macedonian music. I wanted to recycle it somehow.

Tell me, what’s special about Macedonian music?
There’s a lot of emotion and a lot of pain. Even if you understand what they’re singing about. It’s often about war and similar things. Goran Bregović, for example, left a huge impression. He used to go to gypsy villages and work with their songs and record them. Now he plays them once a year to a packed out concert hall. Or Zdravko Čolić, he’s a Bosnian Serb pop star. And in the sixties or seventies there was Nina Spirova who made soul music.

Is that the music your parents listened to?
Yeah. They didn’t just listen to popular stuff, there was a lot of rock in there too. There was a big rock era in Yugoslavia. It was highly political. One person in the band Riblja Čorba would always be in jail for standing up to the regime. People listened to that often back then and now it’s somehow kept going. In my song ‘Yugo’, I sample a really melancholy, old Yugoslavian song. The singer almost cries.

In ‘Österreicher’ you rap about how hard it is to get an Austrian passport. Do you feel Austrian?
Yes definitely. Vienna is my home. I still don’t have a passport. But I’m also not really behind the idea myself.

In 1992, the German hip hop group Advanced Chemistry spoke about citizenship in their music. Each of the members was of immigrant background and rapped: ‘Not recognised, foreign in our own country. Not from another country but still a foreigner.’ That was a very politically charged era full of arguments about ‘the boat being full’. Then came Die Fantastischen Vier (The Fantastic Four), who saw rap as pure entertainment for themselves. Where would you rate yourself amongst this?
I think I’m somewhere in between. My music is definitely also reflective and not just for party. I wouldn’t call it political, though, because I want to tell stories that are more personal. Not try to explain larger things I don’t understand. In general, I find that German hip hop at the moment is mostly party music.

In the Austrian music landscape, there seems to be a new need for local vernacular and some sort of identification with the idea of home or reflection on what it is – Wanda, Granada, Voodoo Jürgens, 5/8erl in Ehr’n. What do you think?
Yeah for sure, there’s also Crack Ignaz, the rapper crew from Linz, the Salzburgers. People aren’t embarrassed any more to be from Austria. As a whole I think that’s pretty good. It only becomes a problem when you don’t pay attention to who’s using the music and what for. And Granada, for example, they’ve made completely different music for ages now. Then Wanda came along and suddenly they changed their image, becoming more Viennese, repping the immigrant neighbourhood. That’s a load of crap to me. It’s so transparent.

So how is it that you got started in hip hop and when did you start listening to it? What did you listen to?
It was German rap. Sido etc. I didn’t think the street rap scene was so great back then. In 2010, Nate57, a street rapper from Hamburg, dropped a mixtape. I was a huge fan of it, it clicked with me and then I started to listen to more and more street rap. These people spoke about a different world; so intense, so unreal. I thought it was awesome.

And when did you start writing lyrics yourself?
I think I was fifteen and was writing my girlfriend a poem for her birthday, something awful. At some stage she gave me a keyboard. Then I began playing it a little bit, making some beats. That’s how it went on until I was also writing rap lyrics. These days, though, I have more fun producing. Producing is something you can do instinctively, unlike lyrics where you have to think hard, put in a lot of work. When you produce a beat, you hear it at the end of the day and it’s great.

Jugo Ürdens – where does your artist name come from?
My mate used to always call me this, he came up with it when we were drunk. Eventually it became my Facebook name and I had Udo Jürgens as my profile picture and bio – so it was all complete non-sense. It’s also a bit stupid because I’m setting myself up in this Yugoslavian foreigner position, but I’m slowly trying to change that. Whatever I do in the future will keep moving away from that.

Did you have a typical migrant childhood, if you could call it that?
Sort of. My parents are academics and wanted me to make something out of myself. I went to an academic high school in Vienna’s city centre. There were a lot of migrants in my class, but there were Austrians there too. We lived further out near the Balkan district and Manner confectionery factory where we played football in the park.

What does your family think about your music?
They like it these days. Of course they’d prefer me to study. But for now I’m just chasing my dream; I can always go to uni afterwards.

You’ve already been to uni before, haven’t you?
Yes, I studied business. I didn’t have much of an idea what I wanted to do. I hated it so much, it was a catastrophe. The smaller the groups got, the more I hated it. On the first day I came too early, wearing a tracksuit. I had an old, clapped out laptop and no money to buy a new one. The others slowly came in in their blue suits and Timberlands. Afterwards they drove their BMWs home. I mean, it’s nice to have money, but what they had wasn’t nice at all.

Montag10:00 – 20:00
Dienstag10:00 – 20:00
Mittwoch10:00 – 20:00
Donnerstag10:00 – 20:00
Freitag10:00 – 21:00
Samstag09:30 – 20:00
Sonntag13:00 – 18:00
Heute geöffnet: 10:00 – 20:00 Uhr

»ICH WÜRDE DAS NICHT POLITISCH NENNEN«

Wenn man glaubt, es geht nicht mehr, kommt aus Österreich ein neuer Musikexport her. Nach Bilderbuch, Wanda, Yung Hurn und Voodoo Jürgens greift nun der Rapper Jugo Ürdens zum Mikro. Ein Gespräch mit dem Newcomer über politischen Rap und Balkan-Melancholie.

Wenn es in Wien noch einen Ort gibt, an dem sich ungeachtet der Geschlechts- und Altersgruppe, des sozialen Rangs, Berufs oder der Herkunft die ganze Stadt versammelt, dann im türkischen Restaurant Kent. Die Lärmkulisse ist betäubend, das Essen betörend. Man trifft kroatische Familien beim Mittagessen, türkische Paare beim ersten Date, österreichische Bauarbeiter. Und, hin und wieder, den Wiener Rapper Jugo Ürdens: Anfang zwanzig, gebürtiger Mazedonier, Wirtschafts­uni-Dropout. Und Österreichs neuer Hip-Hop-Export. Dass er ein »Jugo« ist, also aus dem ehemaligen Jugoslawien stammt, will sich Jugo Ürdens mit seinem Künstlernamen aber nicht auf die Fahnen schreiben. Eigentlich will er das Thema nämlich aus der Welt schaffen.Um über die wirklich wichtigen Dinge rappen zu können. Nicht über »Politik und so’n Scheiß«, sondern über die persönlichen Geschichten, mit denen sich andere identifizieren können.

Jugo, der Rapper Kendrick Lamar hat für sein Album »Damn« gerade als erster Hip-Hop-Act den Pulitzerpreis bekommen. Muss Hip-Hop gesellschaftskritisch sein?
Muss nicht. Wenn Rap ein politischer Gegenpol ist, ist das schon gut. Was Kendrick macht, ist natürlich gut. Es gibt aber auch politischen Rap, der ganz furchtbar ist. Ich persönlich habe da wenig Ansprüche. Ich habe einen Track gemacht, der politisch ist, »Österreicher«. Das reicht mir dann auch.
Deine Musik wird oft zum Cloud Rap gezählt. Dagegen wehrst du dich aber. Warum?
Ich persönlich würde mich da nicht unbedingt reinnehmen. Aber klanglich gibt’s da bestimmt Überschneidungen. Ich verstehe generell nicht, warum man immer alles kategorisieren muss.
In deiner Single »Schwarzes Gold« geht es um Cola. Distanzierst du dich damit vom Thema des Drogenkonsums im Rap?
Eigentlich war das nur Spaß. Ich bin aber schon ziemlich clean unterwegs. Ich mag den Song eigentlich überhaupt nicht mehr. Es gab dazu mal ein Video online, das habe ich wieder runtergenommen.
Passiert es oft, dass du deine Tracks nicht mehr magst, wenn sie veröffentlicht sind?
Frag nicht, das ist andauernd so.
Auf dem Cover deiner ersten EP ist ein Gemälde von einem Knoblauch abgebildet. Was hat es damit auf sich?
Meine Eltern waren die totalen Hipster damals. Gingen die ganze Zeit in Kunstgalerien und so. Und die kauften damals dieses Bild von einer Künstlerin, das muss in den Neunzigern gewesen sein. Wir sind dann gefühlte vierzig Mal umgezogen und das Bild kam immer mit. Irgendwann landete es im Keller, und als ich ausgezogen bin, habe ich es mitgenommen und bei mir aufgehängt. Ich finde das einfach so schön. Ein Stück Heimat.
Du kommst aus Mazedonien, hast deine frühe Kindheit dort verbracht. Hat dich das musikalisch beeinflusst?
Mit sechzehn habe ich begonnen, mich mit meinen Wurzeln auseinanderzusetzen. Ich war mit sieben nach Wien gegangen, verbrachte den Sommer aber immer noch unten. Irgendwann kam die Frage: Wo komme ich eigentlich her? Ich habe dann ganz viel Musik gehört und viel von der alten mazedonischen Musik gesampelt. Ich wollte sie irgendwie wiederverwerten.
Beschreib mal, was macht die Musik aus?
Sehr viel Pathos, sehr viel Schmerz. Auch wenn man versteht, worüber die singen. Viel über Krieg und so. Zum Beispiel Goran Bregović, der hat das total geprägt. Er ging damals in Zigeunerdörfer und hat mit denen ihre Lieder bearbeitet und neu aufgenommen. Jetzt spielt er sie einmal im Jahr vor voll besetztem Konzerthaus. Oder Zdravko Čolić, der ist ein bosnisch-serbischer Popstar. Und in den Sechzigern oder Siebzigern gab es Nina Spirova, die hat soulige Musik gemacht.
Ist das die Musik, die deine Eltern gehört haben?
Ja. Sie haben aber nicht nur volkstümliche Sachen gehört, sondern auch viel Rock. Es gab eine große Rock-Ära in Jugoslawien. Und das war sehr politisch. Einer von der Band Riblja Čorba war immer im Gefängnis, weil er sich gegen das Regime wehrte. Das hat man damals einfach sehr viel gehört und man nimmt es dann irgendwie mit. In meinem Song »Yugo« verwende ich ein Sample von einem alten jugoslawischen Lied, das sehr melancholisch ist. Die Sängerin weint fast.

In »Österreicher« rappst du, wie schwer es ist, einen österreichischen Pass zu bekommen. Fühlst du dich als Österreicher?
Ja, schon. Wien ist mein Zuhause. Einen Pass habe ich immer noch nicht. Ich bin selbst aber auch nicht genügend dahinter.
1992 hat sich die deutsche Hip-Hop-Gruppe Advanced Chemistry mit Staatsbürgerschaft beschäftigt. Die Mitglieder hatten alle einen Migrationshintergrund und rappten: »Nicht anerkannt, fremd im eigenen Land. Kein Ausländer und doch ein Fremder.« Das war in einer politisch sehr aufgeladenen Zeit, voller »Das Boot ist voll«-Debatten. Später kamen Die Fantastischen Vier und haben Rap für sich als reines Entertainment verstanden. Wo würdest du dich da einordnen?
Ich glaube, ich bin irgendwo dazwischen. Meine Musik ist schon auch nachdenklich, nicht nur Party. Ich würde das aber nicht politisch nennen, denn ich will eher persönliche Geschichten erzählen. Keine großen Sachen erklären, von denen ich nichts verstehe. Allgemein sehe ich im deutschen Hip-Hop gerade hauptsächlich Party.
In der österreichischen Musiklandschaft gibt es ja so etwas wie ein neues Bedürfnis nach Mundart und damit irgendwie auch Heimatbekenntnis oder Auseinandersetzung mit Heimat: Wanda, Granada, Voodoo Jürgens, 5/8erl in Ehr’n. Was denkst du darüber?
Ja klar, und Crack Ignaz, die Linzer Rapper-­Partie, die Salzburger. Man schämt sich jetzt nicht mehr, aus Österreich zu sein. Grundsätzlich finde ich das auch schön. Wenn man aber nicht darauf achtet, wer die Musik für welche Zwecke verwendet, wird’s problematisch. Und Granada zum Beispiel, die haben ewig lange ganz andere Musik gemacht. Dann kamen Wanda und sie haben plötzlich ihr Image gewechselt. Hin zu Wienerisch, Ottakring. So was finde ich scheiße. Das ist so berechnend.
Wie bist du eigentlich zum Hip-Hop gekommen, also wann hast du angefangen, ihn zu hören, und welchen?
Das war Deutschrap. Sido und so. Damals fand ich die ganzen Straßenrapper nicht so geil. 2010 hat Nate57 ein Mixtape rausgebracht, das ist ein Hamburger Straßenrapper. Das habe ich dann arg gefeiert, da hat es Klick gemacht und ich habe immer mehr Straßenrap gehört. Diese Leute haben von einer fremden Welt erzählt, so intensiv, so krass. Das fand ich gut.
Und wann hast du begonnen, selbst Texte zu schreiben?
Ich glaube, ich war fünfzehn und habe meiner Freundin zum Jahrestag ein Gedicht geschrieben, ganz ekelhaft. Sie hat mir dann irgendwann ein Keyboard geschenkt. Darauf habe ich begonnen, ein bisschen zu spielen, Beats zu machen. So ging es weiter, bis ich auch Rap-Texte schrieb. Mehr Spaß macht mir heute allerdings das Produzieren. Das kommt einfach von selbst, anders als Texten, wobei man überlegen muss, sich anstrengen. Wenn man einen Beat produziert, hört man ihn sich am Ende des Tages an und das ist geil.
Jugo Ürdens – wie kam es zu deinem Künstlernamen?
Mein Kumpel hat mich früher immer so genannt, da waren wir besoffen. Irgendwann hieß ich so auch auf Facebook, hatte Udo Jürgens als Profilbild und als Bio – kompletter Blödsinn einfach. Ist natürlich auch ein bisschen blöd, weil ich mich damit selbst so auf eine Jugo-Ausländer-Schiene festlege. Aber das versuche ich jetzt langsam zu ändern. Was ich in Zukunft mache, wird immer weiter weg­gehen davon.
Hattest du denn eine typisch migrantische Kindheit, wenn man das so sagen kann?
Na ja. Meine Eltern sind Akademiker und wollten, dass ich was aus mir mache. Ich bin in ein Gymnasium im 1. Bezirk gegangen. Da waren viele Ausländer in meiner Klasse, aber auch Österreicher. Wir haben im 16. Bezirk neben der Manner-Fabrik gelebt und dort im Park Fußball gespielt.
Was denkt die Familie über deine Musik?
Die finden das mittlerweile gut. Natürlich hätten sie gerne, dass ich studiere. Aber ich jage jetzt erst mal meinem Traum nach. Studieren kann ich danach immer noch.
Du hast doch schon ein Studium begonnen, oder?
Ja, ich habe Wirtschaft studiert. Ein bisschen aus Verzweiflung heraus. Ich habe es so gehasst, es war eine Katastrophe. Je kleiner die Gruppen wurden, desto größer wurde der Hass. Am ersten Tag kam ich viel zu früh und im Jogginganzug. Und mit einem abgefuckten Laptop, weil ich kaum Geld hatte. Dann kamen die anderen alle, in ihren blauen Anzügen und ihren Timberlands. Später fuhren sie in ihren BMWs davon. Grundsätzlich ist es eh schön, Geld zu haben. Aber das war der falsche Weg.