Monday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Tuesday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Wednesday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Thursday10:00 AM – 08:00 PM
Friday10:00 AM – 09:00 PM
Saturday09:30 AM – 08:00 PM
Opened today: 10:00 AM – 09:00 PM 

William Finnegan talks about his lifelong passion for surfing and his prizewinning surf book ‘Barbarian Days’

William Finnegan is an author – and a surfer. In this interview, Finnegan talks about his enduring childhood passion for surfing, gives us his thoughts on alpha surfers riding the waves, and tells us all about his Pulitzer Prize-winning book, ‘Barbarian Days’, a summer classic.

When you learned to surf back in the sixties, surfers were seen as rebels and layabouts. What was your experience of that?
The police officers in the coastal areas of California were really hostile towards us as surfers. Just carrying a surfboard was like asking for trouble. You had to be careful where you parked and put your swim shorts on. As a surfer, people seemed to think you’d never read a book before. That was all very different to Hawaii, where I had lived for a couple of years and learned to surf as a young boy. Even some dads surfed there. In California, surfing was a time-wasting exercise for deadbeats who skipped school.

What was the Californian surf scene really like?
It was going through a lot of changes at that time. Surfers were relatively straight-laced in the early sixties, but by the latter part of the decade they were notorious for being conscientious objectors. The Vietnam War was dividing the country. In California, where I grew up, surfers were very much associated with the counter-culture. But the most dramatic change came in 1968, in the form of a new surfboard design. There was a shift from these big, heavy three-metre boards, to much shorter ones that were less than half the weight of their predecessors. The new surfboards completely changed the style and overall concept of surfing. It might sound far-fetched, but the whole thing was also tied in with political changes and altered states of consciousness. Hallucinogenics had an impact on the way the boards were decorated. Suddenly surfboards became psychedelic canvases for wannabe artists.

Did you think of surfing as a form of protest?
I spent most of my childhood in the sea, so surfing came completely naturally to me. When I learned to surf, it became a way to free myself. I cut the cord from my parents at a very early age, as I kept going further and further away from home, hunting for good waves. These days if a fourteen-year-old boy disappeared for days or weeks on end, his parents would be accused of neglect. Back then there was more of a ‘laissez fair’ mentality.

Alpha surfers on the water

 

What kind of atmosphere is there when you’re out on the waves?
The competition can be intense on a good day, when there are lots of surfers out there. There’s a pecking order when you’re in the water – the strongest surfers get to ride the better waves. It’s a primitive dance of dominance and submission.

Is there a cult of masculinity in surfing?
Yes. Sometimes you see guys trying to work their way to the top through intimidation. But that never works. If you’re not a good surfer, you’re just not a good surfer.

WILLIAM FINNEGAN (CENTRE) WITH FRIENDS IN INDONESIA, 1979

The world’s best waves for surfing

You spent the seventies travelling across the South Seas with your surfboard. What inspired you to do that?
There was this film called ‘The Endless Summer’. It was about two young guys who travelled the world looking for waves that nobody had ever surfed before. This idea took hold of a whole generation. Ironically, the film isn’t a documentary; the director Bruce Brown just cast California’s top surfers as actors, so the ideal we were seeking was actually based on a misunderstanding. Anyway, I was in my early twenties and I had finished college. It was the late seventies, the era of disco – not a particularly exciting time in the US. Running away to go surfing and postpone growing up seemed like a perfectly good idea.

Were you looking for freedom?
I wouldn’t say that. I mean, I already had an unusual amount of freedom in California. My parents never stood in the way of any of my ideas. And I had a lot of ideas! They gave me their blessing when I told them I was going to be disappearing to the South Pacific for the next few years. I had these romantic ideas about societies where people were more self-sufficient and lived closer to nature. I thought the whole world was going to end up looking like Los Angeles eventually, so I wanted to make sure I saw it first. We actually discovered surfing spots that almost nobody had heard of before. My friend Brian and I found some of the best surfing waves in the world when we were staying on this uninhabited island in Fiji. Hardly anyone had seen a surfboard there when we arrived. But sometimes I just felt like some idiot who was living in the jungle wasting his time while others made careers for themselves. They were successful Hollywood producers at the age of 30.

GRAJAGAN BAY, JAVA, 1979

THE AUTHOR AS A YOUNG SURFER

‘Surfers still have this problematic image’

Has Hollywood ever made a good film about surfing?
Well, I’ve never seen one. But it’s surprising how many attempts there have been. They’re probably bad because a lot of the people in the film industry are based in Malibu. There are a few famous examples of surf films, like ‘Point Break’, ‘Big Wednesday’, and ‘North Shore’. They’re all cheesy though. Really bad. If you want to ruin a film, all you have to do it put a surfboard in it – that’s my theory, anyway. You know kryptonite, the element that deprives Superman of his powers? Well, surfboards are like the kryptonite of the film world.

You’ve been working for the New Yorker since 1978, but you never told anyone there that you surf.
Surfers still have this problematic image. And I mostly write about politics, lots of opinion pieces. When I thought about writing an article about an old surfer friend from San Francisco, it made me feel nervous. I didn’t want to ‘out’ myself as a surfer; I thought nobody would ever take me seriously again. Of course, nobody cared.

Surfing is mainstream these days. Does that bother you?
I find the marketing side of it pretty awful. But isn’t exactly one of the big tragedies of our times. There are still some genuinely undiscovered spots out there if that’s where you want to surf. You just have to go that bit further afield.

How often do you surf?
As often as I can. Apparently there will be some good waves here in New Jersey tomorrow. Really good ones – don’t tell anyone!

‘BARBARIAN DAYS’
IS PUBLISHED BY SUHRKAMP,
€18

©GETTY IMAGES (1), ©William Finnegan (3)

Montag10:00 – 20:00
Dienstag10:00 – 20:00
Mittwoch10:00 – 20:00
Donnerstag10:00 – 20:00
Freitag10:00 – 21:00
Samstag09:30 – 20:00
Heute geschlossen

William Finnegan über seine lebenslange Leidenschaft zum Surfen und sein prämiertes Surf-Buch »Barbarentage«

William Finnegan ist Autor – und Surfer. Im Interview spricht Finnegan über seine Leidenschaft zum Surfen seit Kindertagen, über surfende Alphatiere auf dem Wasser und sein Pulitzer-prämiertes Buch »Barbarentage«, ein Klassiker des Sommers.

Als Sie in den Sechzigern surfen lernten, galten Wellenreiter als Rebellen und Rumtreiber. Wie bekamen Sie das zu spüren?
Die Polizisten in den kalifornischen Küstenorten waren uns Surfern gegenüber recht feindselig eingestellt. Ein Surfbrett dabeizuhaben, war eine Einladung für Ärger. Man musste aufpassen, wo man parkte und sich seine Badehosen anzog. Als Surfer hatte man auch angeblich nie ein Buch gelesen. All das stand in starkem Kontrast zu Hawaii, wo ich als Junge ein paar Jahre gelebt und Surfen gelernt habe. Da surften manche Väter. In Kalifornien galt Surfen als Zeitvertreib für Gammler, die die Schule abbrechen.

Wie sah die kalifornische Surfszene tatsächlich aus?
Sie veränderte sich zu der Zeit sehr. Während Surfer in den frühen Sechzigern relativ gradlinige Sportler waren, waren sie in den späten Sechzigern berüchtigte Wehrdienstverweigerer. Der Vietnamkrieg teilte das Land. In der kleinen kalifornischen Welt, in der ich aufwuchs, wurden Surfer stark mit der Gegenkultur identifiziert. Die gravierendste Veränderung kam aber in Form eines neuen Surfbrettdesigns, um 1968. Aus großen, schweren Dingern, drei Meter lang, wurden viel kürzere Surfbretter, die weniger als die Hälfte wogen. Das änderte den Stil und allgemein den Gedanken des Surfens. Es klingt wie eine weithergeholte Idee, aber das war auch mit politischen Veränderungen, Bewusstseinsveränderungen verbunden. Halluzinogene hatten Einfluss auf die Ornamentierung. Plötzlich waren Surfbretter psychedelische Leinwände für Möchtegernkünstler.

Verstanden Sie Surfen als Protest?
Ich habe den Großteil meiner Kindheit im Meer verbracht, das mit dem Surfen ergab sich ganz natürlich. Als ich Surfen lernte, entwickelte es sich zu einem Mittel der Selbstbefreiung. Ich habe mich sehr früh von meinen Eltern abgenabelt, weil ich immer weiter weg von zu Hause nach Wellen gesucht habe. Wenn heute ein Vierzehnjähriger für Tage und Wochen verschwände, würde man den Eltern Vernachlässigung vorwerfen. Damals herrschte eine Laissez-faire-Mentalität.

Surfende Alphatiere auf dem Wasser

 

Wie muss man sich die Atmosphäre beim Surfen auf der Welle vorstellen?
An einem guten Tag, wenn viele Surfer draußen sind, kann der Wettbewerb sehr intensiv sein. Es gibt eine Hackordnung im Wasser, die stärksten Surfer bekommen die besseren Wellen. Es ist ein recht primitiver Tanz von Dominanz und Unterwerfung.

Herrscht beim Surfen ein Männlichkeitskult?
Ja. Man sieht Kerle, die versuchen, sich durch Einschüchterung nach oben zu arbeiten. Aber das funktioniert nie. Wenn man kein guter Surfer ist, ist man kein guter Surfer.

william Finnegan (mitte) mit Freunden in Indonesien, 1979

Die besten Surfwellen der Welt

Die Siebziger haben Sie damit verbracht, mit dem Surfbrett durch die Südsee zu reisen. Was hat Sie dazu bewegt?
Es gab damals einen Film namens »The Endless Summer«. Er handelte von zwei Jungs, die um die Welt reisen und nach Wellen suchen, die nie zuvor jemand gesurft hat. In einer ganzen Generation setzte sich diese Idee fest. Ironischerweise ist der Film keine Dokumentation, der Regisseur Bruce Brown hatte die besten Surfer Kaliforniens einfach als Schauspieler engagiert. Unser Ideal beruhte also auf einem Missverständnis. Aber mit Anfang zwanzig hatte ich mein Studium beendet, es waren die späten Siebziger, die Disco-Ära. Keine besonders aufregende Zeit in Amerika. Abzuhauen, um zu surfen, und das Erwachsenwerden aufzuschieben, schien mir eine gute Idee.

Sie waren auf der Suche nach Freiheit?
Nicht unbedingt, denn ich hatte in Kalifornien schon ungewöhnlich viel Freiheit. Meine Eltern haben sich meinen zahlreichen Ideen nie entgegengestellt. Als ich sie davon unterrichtete, dass ich die nächsten Jahre in die Südsee verschwinden würde, gaben sie mir ihren Segen. Ich hatte romantische Vorstellungen über naturverbundenere und autarkere Gesellschaften. Ich dachte, die ganze Welt würde eines Tages aussehen wie Los Angeles. Vorher wollte ich sie sehen. Tatsächlich haben wir Surfspots entdeckt, die fast niemand kannte. Auf einer unbewohnten Insel auf Fidschi fanden mein Freund Brian und ich eine der besten Surfwellen der Welt. Dort hatte kaum ein Mensch je ein Surfbrett gesehen. Manchmal fühlte ich mich aber schon wie der vergessene Schwachkopf, der im Dschungel lebt, während andere Karriere machten. Die waren mit 30 erfolgreiche Hollywood-Produzenten.

Bucht von Grajagan, Java, 1979

Der Autor als junger Surfer

»Surfer haben immer noch ein Imageproblem«

Hat Hollywood je einen guten Film über das Surfen gedreht?
Ich habe nie einen gesehen. Dabei hat es eine überraschend große Zahl von Versuchen gegeben. Was wohl daran liegt, dass viele Leute aus dem Filmgeschäft in Malibu leben. Ein paar berühmte Beispiele von Surffilmen sind »Point Break«, »Big Wednesday« und »North Shore«. Sie sind allesamt Kitsch. Wirklich schlecht. Wenn man einen Film zerstören will, muss man einfach ein Surfbrett darin unterbringen, das ist meine Theorie. Haben Sie von Kryptonit gehört, dem Element, das Supermans Kräfte zerstört? Surfbretter sind das Kryptonit des Films.

Sie arbeiten seit 1978 für den New Yorker, dass Sie surfen, haben Sie dort keinem erzählt.
Surfer haben immer noch ein Imageproblem. Und ich schreibe vor allem über Politik, viele Meinungsstücke. Als ich einen Artikel über einen alten Surferfreund aus San Francisco verfassen sollte, machte mich das nervös. Ich wollte mich nicht als Surfer outen, weil ich dachte, man würde mich nicht mehr ernst nehmen. Natürlich hat es niemanden interessiert.

Heute ist Surfen Mainstream, stört Sie das?
Ich finde den Marketingaspekt entsetzlich. Aber es ist keine große Tragödie unserer Zeit. Wenn man an wirklich unentdeckten Spots surfen will, kann man sie auch heute noch finden. Man muss nur weiter in die Ferne reisen.

Wie oft surfen Sie noch?
So oft ich kann. Morgen Nachmittag soll es hier in New Jersey gute Wellen geben. Richtig gute, erzählen Sie’s niemandem.

»Barbarentage«
ist bei Suhrkamp erschienen,
18 EURO

©GETTY IMAGES (1), ©William Finnegan (3)